Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera  (Read 670 times)

eqko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« on: March 09, 2016, 10:17:03 AM »
Is there a way to save out the selected forest without it including the camera that's set in 'autoassign to active view' under the camera rollout ?

it's really hampering us.

we build an environment including grass forest for instance, save select all we need and xref that in a pov file ubt it always brings over the camera
that might've been in the environment build file.
In my opinion, it shouldnt automatically bring over that camera since I did NOT select the camera when doing save selected ...

could this be changed ? and if not, why not ?

Michal Karmazín

  • iToo Software
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1547
Re: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2016, 11:13:56 AM »
Hi,

Well, though the Save Selected operation by default shouldn't save also the Camera, I would suggest you to use slightly different work-flow - to Merge / XRef Merge wanted objects into a newly created scene.

This way you can easily double check that you are merging all Forest object components just by selecting desired Forest object(s). By having Display Influences option selected in the Merge window you'll have better control over objects needed to rebuild the Forest object.

Hope that helps.

Best regards,

eqko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2016, 11:30:50 AM »
that's really counterproductive to our workflow.
We have a build file from which we 'export' (save selected) everything we need to another file that will be the xref.
the selection NEVER includes a camera.

it's really weird that an unselected camera will still be in the new file, just because forest has it in it's autoassign to camera ...

why does it do that ?

Michal Karmazín

  • iToo Software
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1547
Re: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2016, 03:59:13 PM »
Hi,

As mentioned in the Autodesk Knowledge Network about the Save Selected procedure:

"... Objects linked to a selected object are also saved. The following dependencies are preserved for a Save Selected operation:

- Ancestors of selected child objects are saved, all the way to the root of the hierarchy.
- Space Warps to which selected objects are bound are saved.
- IK follow objects to which selected objects are bound are saved."

I would suggest you to perform the Camera - Clear operation before Save Selected. Attaching sreenshot.

Best regards,

eqko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2016, 04:02:21 PM »
sounds like a plan.

can I access that with maxscript ?
we have a save selected as xref script, I could easily incorporate that if it's accessible.

Michal Karmazín

  • iToo Software
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1547
Re: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2016, 04:32:38 PM »
Hi,

Yes, to Clear any assigned Camera from the Forest object, it's value can be set by Maxscript in a following way:

$.camera = undefined

Hope that helps.

Best regards,

eqko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: 'Save selected' Forest to new file without camera
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2016, 05:45:55 PM »
sweet. works like a charm.

thanks for the help.