Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Vray MultiSubtexture Support?  (Read 3434 times)

AForestProUser

• Find me here!
Vray MultiSubtexture Support?
« on: July 26, 2014, 09:01:15 PM »
Hi,
First of all thank you for your great plugin. As I'm new to this plugin I'm not sure if I'm missing something here. Does Forest Pro support Vray MultiSubtexture ? I mean it would be a surprise if it doesn't, but apparently I cannot get it to work. I currently have more than 3oo textures in the scene all used with vray Multisubtexture as It is not wise to create 300 material, one for each texture. But as far as I tested Forest forces all materials to use the first ID texture.
I appreciate if someone can give a hint here.
Thank you,
Great tutorials here! : http://shlece.com/

iToo

• Administrator
    • iToo Software
Re: Vray MultiSubtexture Support?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2014, 10:49:11 AM »
Hi, thanks you for using our software.

Unfortunately VRayMultiSubTex is not fully supported because Forest modifies internally the IDs of the geometry. This process is necessary for several operations and for compatibility with certain render engines.

There are a couple of workarounds for this issue:

1) Create a Multi-sub with multiple instances of the material, so IDs used in VRayMultiSubTex match with IDs of the multi-sub. You can see an example in the attached scene.
2) If the number of items is not huge, Use Forest Tools to generate instances of the source objects.

I hope that helps.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2014, 10:53:23 AM by iToo »
Carlos Quintero
iToo Software

iToo

• Administrator
    • iToo Software
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2014, 11:18:17 AM »
I've added an entry in the FAQ to describe this issue in detail.
Carlos Quintero
iToo Software

AForestProUser

• Find me here!
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2014, 11:34:09 AM »