Itoo Software Forum

Forest Pack => Forest Pro (*) => Topic started by: TS1579 on June 21, 2013, 06:37:54 PM

Title: Is there a paint tool for forest pack pro?
Post by: TS1579 on June 21, 2013, 06:37:54 PM
Sorry I looked everywhere.  Is there a simple way to paint forest pack pro instances around on a surface like a paintbrush?  Something I can use for example with a  tablet.  Sorry for the dumb question I just can't find it.

Thanks
Title: Re: Is there a paint tool for forest pack pro?
Post by: iToo on June 21, 2013, 06:57:28 PM
Yes, there is a specific area type for painting:

Forest Pack - Parametric Areas (http://player.vimeo.com/video/45500902)
http://www.itoosoft.com/forestpack/reference/refarea.php#painting (http://www.itoosoft.com/forestpack/reference/refarea.php#painting)

Title: Re: Is there a paint tool for forest pack pro?
Post by: TS1579 on June 21, 2013, 07:37:29 PM
awesome thank for instant response
Title: Re: Is there a paint tool for forest pack pro?
Post by: TS1579 on June 21, 2013, 07:54:06 PM
sorry one other question I get orange circles where the instances should be, is there a way to turn on visibility of these instances? I turned falloff off and on.  thanks.
Title: Re: Is there a paint tool for forest pack pro?
Post by: iToo on June 21, 2013, 10:54:14 PM
You must adjust the density using the Distribution parameters, to get items within the painting area (the orange regions). In Forest the painting areas are parametric: you can modify the distribution, type of items and other parameters once painted.... basically you are painting a spline. In fact, the painting areas can be converted to splines and back. This method is much more flexible than inserting individual fixed items.

You can see examples of use in the Tree Lined Canal (http://www.itoosoft.com/forestpack/tutorials/tutorial_basic2.php) and Modern Barn (http://www.itoosoft.com/forestpack/tutorials/tutorial_modernbarn3.php) tutorials.

In case you need more precision and place items individually, switch to "Custom Edit" mode in the "Tree Editor" rollout, and add the items from there.