Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Best gfx card for heavy forest scenes, or is it more cpu dependent?  (Read 1393 times)

Screenscene vfx

Heya Folks,

I'm doing a very large digital environment shot with a huge amount of trees and details in them. It's my first time using forest for something so big and my viewport update is pretty laggy when attempting to change frames. The scene itself is using lots of objects loaded from forest libraries that are set to xref to allow us to keep small file sizes and tweak materials with easy updating. This makes total sense when as scene is being opened and all the geometry has to be referenced in, but it's also quite nasty in terms of viewport update.

Once forest has calculated all of the distribution points for an object, we're down to it just being a display thing mainly isn't it? I'm on a 3.3ghz xeon with 24 gigs of ram (the scene is taking about 12 to hold in memory) and I'm currently on a geforce gtx 970. There might be a possibility that the motherboard bus is choking the graphics card (it was previously on a quadro 4000) but I'm trying to think of other factors that'd have a major impact on the update of my forest scene. If I have a single forest object isolated, it's still taking upwards of twenty seconds to jump from one frame to another, and it puts a full hit on one of the cores of my CPU.

I'm using large distribution maps (about 6k) and point display mode for each of my 8 forest objects, what do you think would be the biggest contributor to viewport slowdown?

Is there a big overhead aside from the initial calculation of using xreffed assets?

Cheers!

John
« Last Edit: June 23, 2015, 07:01:35 PM by Screenscene vfx »

Michal Karmazín

• iToo Software
Re: Best gfx card for heavy forest scenes, or is it more cpu dependent?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 12:59:32 PM »
Hi John,