Itoo Software Forum

Forest Pack => Forest Pro (*) => Topic started by: TATproductions on August 18, 2022, 02:56:11 PM

Title: Multiple pipeline installation
Post by: TATproductions on August 18, 2022, 02:56:11 PM
Hello

We need to install multiple version of Forest on the same machine to support multiple pipeline.

For exemple :
3dsmax 2021 + forest 6 for rendering project 1
and
3dsmax 2023 + forest 7 for working on new projects

While deploying multiple workstations or rendernodes, my IT alert me that the specification of the version in the silece installation doesn't sesms to work.

Here's our CMD line we use :
Code: [Select]
\\NETWORK_PATH\ForestPackPro741_x64.exe /S /MAXVER=max2023-64 /MAXDIR="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2023" /LICMODE=rendernode /LICHOST=buck /LICPORT=16720
It seems that this commande doesn't install on 2023 only, it erase the installation on 2021 and broke our render too.

Do you have any solution for that ?

Thanks !
-p-

Title: Re: Multiple pipeline installation
Post by: iToo on August 19, 2022, 04:23:24 PM
No. It's not possible to install FP6 and FP7 together in this way, because the setup program checks if there a previous Forest installed, and removes it.
This is done to avoid conflicts with files of different versions.

You could do this:

1.- Install FP6 with the command line. Since there is not FP6 for Max 2023, it will be installed only for 2021.

2.- Copy the files for FP7 manually, for any workstation.

In the latest updates, the plugin for Max 2023 is installed at C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins, following the new Autodesk package format.
Basically you must copy the content of C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins\ForestPackPro2023 to the render node, in the same location.

I hope that helps.

Title: Re: Multiple pipeline installation
Post by: TATproductions on February 08, 2023, 04:59:11 PM
Hello

Just for information, i'm trying to setup a new way to load plugins in 3dsmax, so i could choose whitch version to load depending the graphiste project is working on.

I'm finding out that this kind of loading is working.

Code: [Select]
localpath = "D:\LOADING\Forest_2023\2023\\"
LoadDllsFromDir localPath "ForestPackPro.dlo"

Do you have any strong recommandation not doing this ?

Thanks
Title: Re: Multiple pipeline installation
Post by: iToo on February 10, 2023, 11:39:00 AM
Hi,

Really we never tried to use LoadDllsFromDir with our plugins.

I just made a quick test with RailClone in Max 2023, and it seems to load the plugin correctly... but when i load a RailClone scene i get a missing plugin error.
Next calls to LoadDllsFromDir has not effect. Plugin is not initialized.

Probably this method may work with simple plugins, but i discourage to use it with FP and RC. Because they have multiple dependencies with other DLLs.