Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Problems with the z-axis  (Read 2965 times)

RD3460

Problems with the z-axis
« on: May 04, 2014, 04:17:02 AM »
Hello,

I'm new to Forest Pro and I'm trying to setup my billboards right to use in the game I'm working on, rFactor 2.

I have my reference objcets setup right, they export fine and work fine in game, and also worked fine with the scatterer I was using prior to using Forest Pro.

However, I cannot get them to work right with Forest.  It seems to create the quads itself, instead of use the reference object as it is.  So my axis ends up wrong, and the vertex alpha, which needs to be anything but 100% for the billboard effect to happen in game.  This allows having non billboard and billboard quads in the same object.

I tried adding my mesh objects, simple quads, already setup right to the library and use them from there, and it doesn't work, and I also tried switching to the same objects, imported in my test scene, and the same thing happen.

I first thought it was working right with the objects in the scene, but it didn't, the same thing happens.  The axis, which need to be z up, y back, x right, seeing the plane from front view.  They end up z front, x down and y right.

Any ideas on what to do?  My previous scatterer had an option to set which axis to use for up direction, so it was easy, and it could also use the same as the reference object too (in other word, keep it)...  I cannot seem to find such an option in Forest, the only thing regarding direction is the little direction rollout ,but it doesn't help.

Thanks in advance for helping me find a solution.

RD3460

Re: Problems with the z-axis
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 06:05:48 AM »
I fiddled some more, and found something...

Here are the steps I used before:

I had saved my sample grass tuft billboards in a separate max file, and imported into forest library.  Then I created a forest with the 8 different tuft of grass I had there.