Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => RailClone Pro (*) => Topic started by: IVORM on May 07, 2020, 11:54:49 AM

Title: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: IVORM on May 07, 2020, 11:54:49 AM
Hi all,

My first post on this forum. I need to find a fix for my textures while capping my assets inside Railclone.
I am working on some intersection visuals and I am using the build in Cap feature inside Railclone. The textures are distorted and I am trying to fix it with a separate poly select and a new UVW map inside my stack. Unfortunate this not a solid fix which doesn't always work. Do you have some suggestions?
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: Rokas on May 07, 2020, 12:06:09 PM
Hi and welcome.

You can enable RailClone generated UVs:
(https://i.imgur.com/m89oePK.gif)

Hope this helps
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: IVORM on May 08, 2020, 12:02:53 PM
Thank you Rokas! That fixed my issue.
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: IVORM on May 08, 2020, 02:47:24 PM
Unfortunately, that doesn't work with a street tile, when I click the apply box mapping.
It doesn't maintain the previous UVW unwrap setting.
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: Rokas on May 08, 2020, 02:50:36 PM
Please attach a max file to illustrate the problem
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: IVORM on May 08, 2020, 02:54:35 PM
Here you are Rokas!
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: Rokas on May 08, 2020, 03:30:52 PM
Thanks. OK yes, this method only works with simple BOX mapping and seamless textures. I guess this time You can swap the tiles texture to seamless concrete material.
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: IVORM on May 08, 2020, 05:09:44 PM
Thks for your advice, that seems to be the best solution.
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: nubo on August 05, 2020, 03:06:36 PM
Hi,

I've noticed that cap mapping size is incorrect when using non real-world mapping, specifically it's got different scale than the body of the segment.
It gets fixed when I switch to 'real-world map size' in RC and to 'real-world scale' mapping in texture.
I work in centimeters.

Is there any fix for that? I'd rather not work in RWS mapping, since most of our libraries are based on regular UVW-tiling mapping.

Przemek
Title: Re: Texture fix Capping holes
Post by: Rokas on August 05, 2020, 03:29:26 PM
Is there any fix for that? I'd rather not work in RWS mapping, since most of our libraries are based on regular UVW-tiling mapping.

I am afraid not, only RealWorldScale when capping.

I use both RWS and regular UVs on daily basis. Both have own pros and cons.