Itoo Software Forum

Forest Pack => Forest Pro (*) => Forest Pro beta => Topic started by: gnu on April 29, 2018, 05:32:46 PM

Title: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: gnu on April 29, 2018, 05:32:46 PM
ive updated to the latest beta  (6.06,  although ive just checked and despite running the update manager and downlaoding all packages, it still says im on 6.04 when i click "check for updates")

im using vray 3.6.04 current version.

a simple park with one of the AIO lawns from the "layered grass" library.

when using cpu it renders fine.


when switching to gpu it renders in patchy rainbow pastel colours.

is there a fix?  i thought forestcolor was ok on gpu now.

 swapping to cpu will increase my rendertimes by 10x..




Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: gnu on April 29, 2018, 05:38:56 PM
ok i just manually updated to 6.06, and i have the same problem.
Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: Rokas on April 30, 2018, 08:37:55 AM
Thank You for reporting this.
I can reproduce it:

(https://i.imgur.com/PaYFKr4.jpg)
Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: gnu on April 30, 2018, 11:00:24 AM
any chance of a quick fix?    my deadline is in  10 days...   switching to cpu will take my renders from 1-2 hrs to "overnight"   and i have 12 images to do.   you can see the problem, mathematically speaking.
Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: Rokas on April 30, 2018, 11:26:25 AM
Quick fix:
Open material editor and find "Forest Color" map(-s), which lead to Compsite Masks:
(https://i.imgur.com/jfwDSXU.jpg)

And enable any of the colors in the list:
(https://i.imgur.com/1m7Yx7U.jpg)
Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: gnu on April 30, 2018, 12:50:39 PM
wow. great, that works perfectly.. i have absolutely no idea why, but thanks for saving me a load of hassle!
Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: allemyr on March 26, 2020, 12:29:19 PM
I remember using Forest Color on Vray GPU several years ago. But it still seams broken now. The Quick fix will work fine. Any updates on Forest Color with Vray GPU, i guess its on Chaosgroups side to solve it with the tint override?
Title: Re: RT gpu and forest color HELP!
Post by: Rokas on March 26, 2020, 12:33:45 PM
I remember using Forest Color on Vray GPU several years ago. But it still seams broken now. The Quick fix will work fine. Any updates on Forest Color with Vray GPU, i guess its on Chaosgroups side to solve it with the tint override?

Correct.