Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Rail Clone needs a major update, especially to its Libraries  (Read 2453 times)

DBowker3D

All the fancy stuff that has been added lately seems to skirt around the fact that most of your libraries are old, like very old. Every other improvement pales in comparison to the fact that most of the time I simply can't or won't use RC libraries anymore. Sure, there was that project where I needed some grocery store shelves... Or one where I needed Library Bookshelves... And occasionally I use the streetlamps or some of the other items, but the stuff I really could use are all the basic streets, walks, walls, fences and such that just don't cut it anymore (and haven't for several years).

I am a busy freelancer, like busy 110% of the time, and thus have no time at all to make my own libraries and get into altering all the parameters. The fact that we can do so is great, but of the half dozen other animators I know well, I can't think of any that could take the time to get under the hood. Even if I had the time? I still probably couldn't do it anyway. I'm an artist first, engineer and architect second.

The roads: Why can't we get a simple two-lane road, like what 90% of all residential streets actually look like? A street with drains every 20 meters, regular cement sidewalks (no one has sidewalks with cobblestones guys), corners with wheelchair ramps, and streetlights all in one go.
And seriously, with all the talent you guys have, surely there is way for you to have intersections! There has to be a way to make this happen with corners, ramps and crosswalks.
Do the same for City streets with urban details and you will cover almost all situations.