Itoo Software Forum

Other boards => Other free plugins => Topic started by: fatsober on May 31, 2008, 09:50:18 AM

Title: Trees not glueing
Post by: fatsober on May 31, 2008, 09:50:18 AM
Hi guys

This is probably a very simple problem:

I have created a glued spline that follows the contours of  hill/mountain no problem. But when I try to use this spline to create a forest (in forest lite) the forest does not follow the glued spline in the Z axis- it sort of floats above the spline and is completely flat not following the gl_line and acts as if I have created the forest on a flat plane/spline or the original line/shape. I have tried various combinations of creating both the glued line and the forest but nothing seems to work (I am creating the forest in the gl_line and not the original), am I doing something obviously wrong?

Cheers
Title: Re: Trees not glueing
Post by: iToo on May 31, 2008, 12:05:11 PM
Hi,

Is not possible to use Forest Lite with a glued spline, because there is not information about the surface's elevation inside the area's spline.. only in the contourn.

To places trees over a terrain you need Forest Pro.


Title: Re: Trees not glueing
Post by: fatsober on June 01, 2008, 06:26:55 PM
Ah I see....time to get my wallet out then :)
Title: Re: Trees not glueing
Post by: KJ2229 on June 12, 2013, 05:32:06 PM
I am having the same problem ... and got the PRO pack forest ...

1. created a surface with uneven
2. I created a spline
3. used the Glue Plugin to glue the spline on the surface
4. import a tree
5. changed the pivot to the base of the tree
6. used the forest pack selecting the glue spline

the trees do not follow the surface .... they follow the surface only if I select the entire surface to create the forest ... but selecting the spline glue does not work.

what's wrong?

Ob: sorry my english.
Title: Re: Trees not glueing
Post by: iToo on June 12, 2013, 06:35:17 PM
That procedure will not work, a glued spline cannot be used in Forest. Please do this:

1) Assign the terrain in the Forest Surface rollout, o create a Forest picking the Surface.
2) Go to the Areas rollout. You will see a "Surfaces Areas" item. If this area is enabled, the items are scattered along the full surface. So just turn it off.
3) Now, create your Splines Areas as usual. The items will be created within the splines, but placed in the surface.

http://localweb/forestpack/reference/refarea.php (http://localweb/forestpack/reference/refarea.php)

Title: Re: Trees not glueing
Post by: KJ2229 on June 12, 2013, 07:35:30 PM
Thank you, I will test.