Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => RailClone Pro (*) => Topic started by: PI4914 on October 28, 2019, 03:08:15 PM

Title: 4.0.9 Hard Crash on any spinner change
Post by: PI4914 on October 28, 2019, 03:08:15 PM
Hello,

I've been having a very consistent issue since updating to 4.0.9; in any scene if I create a node that has a spinner and attempt to grip the spinner and drag up and down it will almost immediately hard crash max. No error, no autodesk popup; it behaves as if I manually closed max.

I have a feeling it might be hardware related since it seems that I'm only getting this issue on Ryzen workstations (SMT Disabled).

Hardware: AMD Ryzen TR 1950X + 64GB Ram + GTX 1080ti
Software: Win10 + Max 2020 + Corona 4

Sidenotes:
I have tried this in a fresh scene and still get this crash so I do mean any scene.
The non Ryzen station that I tested and didn't have the same crash has dual Intel Xeon E5-2630 v4 processors.
As I mentioned above, our Ryzen stations have the SMT feature disabled so I will have to test with this enabled.

Cheers,
Title: Re: 4.0.9 Hard Crash on any spinner change
Post by: Rokas on October 28, 2019, 03:13:08 PM
I have AMD Ryzen TR 1950X  and SMT is on. I do not get these crashes.

Thanks in advance for any further comments on this issue you can share with us / our user community (in case some user(s) will run into similar troubles).
Title: Re: 4.0.9 Hard Crash on any spinner change
Post by: PI4914 on October 28, 2019, 05:49:40 PM
I tested the Ryzen system with SMT enabled and still get the same crash; I'll try to continue troubleshooting this though.
Title: Re: 4.0.9 Hard Crash on any spinner change
Post by: VIZIOEN on January 10, 2020, 11:35:02 AM
Same problem here on my older workstation (Dual xeon) and my new workstation (threadipper 3970x). With older versions of railclone and the latest as well. I experience crashes in 75% of the time when I use the spinners.

It's an immediate crash, but I do get the popup from autodesk.
Title: Re: 4.0.9 Hard Crash on any spinner change
Post by: Rokas on January 10, 2020, 12:30:43 PM
We will patch spinners issue in next RailClone update. Hopefully this will work better.