Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => RailClone Pro (*) => Topic started by: Alex.S on July 29, 2016, 11:58:31 AM

Title: Arithmetic Select Function Request
Post by: Alex.S on July 29, 2016, 11:58:31 AM
One function that I'd find very useful, and save me from writing multiple nested if statements would a Select operand.

So you pass the variable in the first input, and then it selects from the following inputs based on that... We have similar operations for segments, but not for general arithmetic calculations. For example there are many circumstances I want slightly different offsets etc.

Thoughts?
Title: Re: Arithmetic Select Function Request
Post by: Paul Roberts on July 29, 2016, 12:35:53 PM
Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion, I can see how this would be really useful. We'll add it to the wishlist. In the meantime here's a little code snippet you can quickly use with the Arithmetic operator. I'm afraid it's using the nested If statements you mention but you don't need more that 20 inputs you can just copy and paste this expression:

Code: [Select]
if(Input1=1,Input2,
if(Input1=2,Input3,
if(Input1=3,Input4,
if(Input1=4,Input5,
if(Input1=5,Input6,
if(Input1=6,Input7,
if(Input1=7,Input8,
if(Input1=8,Input9,
if(Input1=9,Input10,
if(Input1=10,Input11,0
))))))))))

Many thanks!

Paul
Title: Re: Arithmetic Select Function Request
Post by: Alex.S on July 29, 2016, 01:00:23 PM
Yup, cheers :)