Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => RailClone Pro (*) => Topic started by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 07:22:13 AM

Title: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 07:22:13 AM
Hey

Can someone tell me how to make a corner object only to be applied on bezier-corner vertices.
Theres a bit of bending on the corner going on also I want to get rid of it: http://prntscr.com/l1ymrh

Thanks
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on October 04, 2018, 09:14:14 AM
Hi

There is a setting just for this, You can find it in Generator, Rules, Corner - Vertex Type:
(https://i.imgur.com/1wRJ1EL.png)

Hope this helps
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 03:45:50 PM
Hi

There is a setting just for this, You can find it in Generator, Rules, Corner - Vertex Type:
(https://i.imgur.com/1wRJ1EL.png)

Hope this helps
Nope
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 04:32:27 PM
Im setting it to BC but they appear on corner vertices also. How can I avoid this?
http://prntscr.com/l25rad
http://prntscr.com/l25se7
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on October 04, 2018, 04:56:55 PM
Please attach Your scene. That is the only way we can help You.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 05:53:30 PM
Here
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on October 04, 2018, 09:23:40 PM
Thank You. I see You are using fillet option. That breaks this bezier selection.

You can remove mid-arc verticies
(https://i.imgur.com/HiloRBW.png)

and form the arc using bezier handles:
(https://i.imgur.com/4vPPpCw.png)

Then use Rules- Count mode with value 5 or anything that You like.
(https://i.imgur.com/rpH1ohm.png)

Hope this helps.
General tip: try to avoid Scale Mode as it creates more problem than it solves most of the time.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 09:38:27 PM
Thank You. I see You are using fillet option. That breaks this bezier selection.

You can remove mid-arc verticies
(https://i.imgur.com/HiloRBW.png)

and form the arc using bezier handles:
(https://i.imgur.com/4vPPpCw.png)

Then use Rules- Count mode with value 5 or anything that You like.
(https://i.imgur.com/rpH1ohm.png)

Hope this helps.
General tip: try to avoid Scale Mode as it creates more problem than it solves most of the time.
Im sorry but that doesnt work for me. Trying to approximate a circular structure by hand is not what I really want in this situation.
PS: Either scaling or making the geometry bigger...at least scaling is procedural.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 04, 2018, 10:33:49 PM
Is there any way to make corner objects appear only on BC verts? Im setting it to BC but they also appear on corner verts X_X
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 05, 2018, 12:48:06 AM
Hello?!
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on October 05, 2018, 07:08:56 AM
Is there any way to make corner objects appear only on BC verts? Im setting it to BC but they also appear on corner verts X_X
You are using fillet option. That overrides Your bezier selection. That seems like a bug. We will try to fix it in next versions.
For now Please don't use fillet option or use "smooth" points inside the arc.

Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 05, 2018, 08:53:16 AM
Great X_X
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 06, 2018, 12:02:29 AM
Conditional node doesnt work either?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on October 07, 2018, 05:57:59 PM
So yeah cool, when is the bug gonna be fixed? do I have to pay you another 200$ just to be able to use that feature?!
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on November 07, 2018, 10:16:59 AM
Since im no longer have an updated license you dont have to help or answer questions anymore?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on November 07, 2018, 10:27:24 AM
Hi Evgeniy.
We are trying to answer questions and suggest workaround solutions for our users even if maintenance plan is expired.

Thank You for reporting a bug. Unfortunately we have not fixed it yet.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on December 30, 2018, 10:42:28 AM
Hello"?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on January 13, 2019, 01:26:14 PM
Hello?!!?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on January 17, 2019, 11:44:39 AM
hello?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on January 23, 2019, 11:34:02 PM
Anyone?!
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on January 23, 2019, 11:42:33 PM
Have you fixed the bug yet or not? or you don care? or what?!!! Im trying to finish my project here! damn you!... Ignoring my messages is not a good way to do business. you know that right?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on January 24, 2019, 07:59:43 AM
Hi Evgeniy. Unfortunately we have not yet fixed this bug. We are working on multiple issues and preparing for next releases.

Thanks for your encouragement.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: iToo on January 24, 2019, 11:09:54 AM
Hi Evgeniy,

I apologize for the problems, but of course there was not any intention of ignoring you, regardless if you maintenance plan is active or not.
As Rokas replied above, this issue was already registered in our to-do list for checking.

But please note that actually we have more than 200 pending issues for RailClone, including bugs, features and improvements.
The resolution time for each one may go from hours to days, depending of their complexity. Also, once a bug is fixed, it may take some time until a new build is ready to be released.

I just checked this specific issue, but unfortunately i cannot find any way to fix it.
The "Fillet" process creates new bezier-corners and remove the existing ones. More than a bug, this issue should be classified as an incompatibility between features.

I tried an alternative procedure, which i hope it works for you. In this way:

- Instead to define the "corners" using the type of vertex, i used a Conditional node with Material = 2.
- I set the Material ID to 2 for each spline segment BEFORE the vertex, where i want to insert a corner piece.

Aditionally i made these changes, to solve other issues:

- "Rotation X" is removed from the Generator, and applied to the Segments (i find more intuitive to control the rotation in this way).
- Segment->"Y Alignment" is changed from "Pivot" to "Automatic". This was necessary to center the corner pieces on the spline, and bend them correctly.

You can find attached the modified scene. I hope that helps.


Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on January 27, 2019, 06:52:39 AM
I have another weird thing. RC corner doesn work on a spline, but works on a copied segments of the same spline, any idea whats wrong here?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: iToo on January 27, 2019, 10:38:04 AM
For some reason the Fillet algorithm is generating a smaller curve in this vertex, that it should be.
It seems to be affected by the connection with the adjacent segments. Because that, the copy generates a different result.
I've attached a screenshot using our RC debug mode, so you can see what is happening internally.

RailClone uses a 3DS Max Fillet algorithm, but not the version included with the recent Max versions. We'll check the Fillet code and update it.

Meanwhile, i suggest to tweak the vertex manually, setting it to a Bezier-Corner and adjusting the in/out angles, as shown in the second image.

Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on December 24, 2019, 01:52:30 PM
Hello

Can you tell if the bug been fixed?

Thanks!
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: iToo on December 28, 2019, 08:54:04 AM
Hello,

No, i'm sorry. This issue is in our to-do list yet.
I hope we can address it soon.

Regards,
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: iToo on January 24, 2020, 09:55:27 AM
Fixed in RailClone 4.1.2 (https://forum.itoosoft.com/announcements/railclone-litepro-4-1-2/).
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on April 05, 2020, 06:15:37 PM
Fixed in RailClone 4.1.2 (https://forum.itoosoft.com/announcements/railclone-litepro-4-1-2/).
Before updating my license id like to know for sure? can you confirm it somehow
Thanks
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on April 05, 2020, 06:33:59 PM
Hi Evgeniy

this thread's (https://forum.itoosoft.com/railclone-pro-(*)/bc-verts/msg23264/#msg23264) attached file opened with current RC version:

(https://i.imgur.com/wsjScsW.png)

Is there anything else You want to check?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on April 05, 2020, 07:07:47 PM
Hi Evgeniy

this thread's (https://forum.itoosoft.com/railclone-pro-(*)/bc-verts/msg23264/#msg23264) attached file opened with current RC version:

(https://i.imgur.com/wsjScsW.png)

Is there anything else You want to check?

So both issues I had are now fixed? From the screenshot Im guessing that copying the spline now produces the same objects...is that correct? Can also I expect corner objects on corner vertices only...not BC objects on corner vertices?

Thanks!


Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on April 05, 2020, 07:37:01 PM
The "Fillet" process creates new bezier-corners and remove the existing ones. Your first "bug" issue should be classified as an incompatibility between features.

Can also I expect corner objects on corner vertices only...not BC objects on corner vertices?

Can Your produce a scene and I will check it for You to be sure.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on April 05, 2020, 07:53:27 PM
The "Fillet" process creates new bezier-corners and remove the existing ones. Your first "bug" issue should be classified as an incompatibility between features.

Can also I expect corner objects on corner vertices only...not BC objects on corner vertices?

Can Your produce a scene and I will check it for You to be sure.
scene should still be in this topic you can find it on page one
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on April 06, 2020, 07:17:26 AM
The "Fillet" process creates new bezier-corners and remove the existing ones. Your first "bug" issue should be classified as an incompatibility between features.

Can also I expect corner objects on corner vertices only...not BC objects on corner vertices?

Can Your produce a scene and I will check it for You to be sure.
scene should still be in this topic you can find it on page one

I have not found such a scene (without fillets)
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on April 30, 2020, 05:20:33 PM
how to avoid this bending
https://prnt.sc/l1ymrh
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on April 30, 2020, 05:34:07 PM
also my main issue was that all verts, including BC inherited fillet option, the bending could be fixed by changing the corner to BC. Is that not the case right now?
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on April 30, 2020, 07:11:28 PM
Please illustrate with a max file.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on May 01, 2020, 12:30:24 AM
the bending?
https://prnt.sc/l1ymrh
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on May 01, 2020, 04:01:16 PM
the bending?
https://prnt.sc/l1ymrh
Whatever You want us to test how it works with current RC version.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on May 02, 2020, 10:23:29 PM
max 2017
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on May 03, 2020, 06:05:38 PM
Bending has not changed with Your spline and Scale Mode.
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on May 09, 2020, 07:39:32 PM
Bending has not changed with Your spline and Scale Mode.
I pointed out I have an issue almost 2 years ago! How come you still have this not fixed?!
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Rokas on May 12, 2020, 09:52:18 AM
Hi Evgeniy

Thank You for the confidence in our plugin and high requirements for it.
Also thank You for reporting bugs. Some were fixed but some are incompatibilities between features used.
Unfortunately sometimes a tool does not work right out the box and some design modifications should be made to find compromise between what You want and what a tool can do for You.

Please consider another workaround for Your situation:
I have added additional Conditional operator for Your corner input. Hope this is acceptable for You.

(https://i.imgur.com/I15J5mz.png)
Title: Re: BC verts
Post by: Evgeniy_Ivanov on May 12, 2020, 01:21:51 PM
Hi Evgeniy

Thank You for the confidence in our plugin and high requirements for it.
Also thank You for reporting bugs. Some were fixed but some are incompatibilities between features used.
Unfortunately sometimes a tool does not work right out the box and some design modifications should be made to find compromise between what You want and what a tool can do for You.

Please consider another workaround for Your situation:
I have added additional Conditional operator for Your corner input. Hope this is acceptable for You.

(https://i.imgur.com/I15J5mz.png)
Im sorry this is not what I wanted.