Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Cars on parking rotate 180  (Read 748 times)

Crayox

Cars on parking rotate 180
« on: June 12, 2021, 10:31:48 AM »
Hi guys,
so I created lines for my parking spaces, and now I'm using it to put cars in. I'm using vrayproxy car models and will randomize them. It's working ok but now I wanted to have each car also be 180 rotated. I use transform to rotate and then move the car back on the space since it rotates on the street. Why though do my rotated cars overlap the normal ones? Shouldn't randomize pick one and insert one into evenly?
Thanks

Dragan

Re: Cars on parking rotate 180
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2021, 11:54:19 AM »
Hi..
Try this generator.
Just add your cars to the noted Randomize node and of course, check the parameters.  ;)

« Last Edit: June 12, 2021, 11:58:00 AM by Dragan »

Crayox

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2021, 02:05:12 PM »
Thanks! Damn that looks complex but works :)
Since I'm a beginner, I would still like to know why mine doesn't work.

Crayox

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2021, 02:37:31 PM »
I though maybe I could try rotating them after randomizer. So I used selector with one normal and one transformed input. Exported index to a random number generator with integer 1-2 and now they all face the same way. Haha why is that?

This seems so trivial and yet I'm missing something. Transform should be working since I saw the cares rotated and back to their place when they were overlapping.

Dragan

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2021, 03:02:20 PM »
Can you share the scene file so we can take a look?

Crayox

« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2021, 09:35:28 AM »
Yes of course! Thanks...here it is.

Dragan

« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2021, 10:20:28 AM »
Well, you probably have some leftovers from the previous testing in the Segment node transform (orange) as well as in the transform node.
Try to `clean` those and set Random node to Generate on Segment.
Also, check this part of the help documentation about transforms: