Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Intersecting corners  (Read 858 times)

dejan

Intersecting corners
« on: July 21, 2021, 02:48:27 PM »
Hi, this is probably a noob question cause I just started learning RC and I tried searching already...

Anyway, I'm trying to create a simple glass railing from the objects in image 1.

Object 1 is my start and end.
Object 2 is my default.
Object 3 (one single object with two end elements with its pivot in the middle) is my corner and evenly segment. Evenly because I want a gap between glass segments every x meters.

Now, my corner object works well on straight lines but at 90 degree corners the segments intersect (image 3). How can I make them behave like in image 4? I guess this is the same as how you would make a brick wall behave at corners.

Thank you!

Paul Roberts

• iToo Software
Re: Intersecting corners
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2021, 03:43:37 PM »
Hi!

Please take a look at the attached file. It uses a couple of techniques that you'll find helpful as you progress with RailClone. First of all, instead of a Corner segment that already includes the start and end of the glass. These are created in the RailCLone graph by mirroring and combining just the Start geometry using a Compose operator. You'll find in many circumstances that this gives you a lot more flexibility. Secondly, you'll see segments in the graph called NULL. These are normal segment nodes, but I haven't picked any geometry for them. When used like this they can add gaps to the array using their padding or Fixed Size parameters.

I hope that helps, please let me know if you have any questions,
Paul
Paul Roberts
iToo Software

dejan

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2021, 05:43:48 PM »
Hi Paul!

Thank you so much, that was very helpfull!