Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => RailClone Pro (*) => Topic started by: QK1362 on November 18, 2021, 12:12:17 PM

Title: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: QK1362 on November 18, 2021, 12:12:17 PM
Is it possible to disable Auto update for all Railclone Objects in a Scene at once?

Its taking a long time to calculate the facade while editing single geometry elements when railclone constantly updating.

thanks!
Title: Re: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: Paul Roberts on November 19, 2021, 10:10:07 AM
Hi,

Though there's not a built-in function, here are a couple of one-line maxscripts that might help.

To disable auto-build for all RC objects in the scene

Code: [Select]
for each in (for obj in geometry where classof obj == RailClone_Pro collect obj) do (each.autoUpdate=false;)
To enable auto-build for all RC objects in the scene

Code: [Select]
for each in (for obj in geometry where classof obj == RailClone_Pro collect obj) do (each.autoUpdate=true; redrawViews(); )
Hope that helps,
Paul
Title: Re: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: QK1362 on November 22, 2021, 05:53:40 PM
Is it possible to add such in feature in a future Update?

thanks!
Title: Re: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: Paul Roberts on November 22, 2021, 06:06:31 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, I'll pass it on to the dev team and we'll look into it. Adding an option to enable/disable from RailClone lister seems like the most obvious place for it.

Best,
Paul
Title: Re: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: iToo on November 23, 2021, 01:49:09 PM
In RailClone 5 you have the new "Proxy Cache" feature, which is more suitable for your needs.

It lets to lock a RC object, storing the build state with the scene.
Unlike of Auto-build, it's much faster because RC objects are not rebuilt when scene is loaded or rendered.

Proxy Cache can be enabled from the Display rollout or from RailClone Lister.
I would suggest to take a look to it. You will notice a huge performance when using complex RC objects.

Title: Re: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: eqko on November 24, 2021, 10:38:26 AM
Running ahead of things (haven't tested the beta yet) but would this proxy cache also
solve the issue where moving an xRef scene (bound to a dummy) that has railclone in it is really slow when auto-build is on ?
Not even sure if you are aware of that issue at all btw, but might be cool if proxy cache solvde that as well.

In short, would proxy cache work the same when xref'd into another scene ?
Title: Re: Disable Auto Update for all RC Objects?
Post by: Paul Roberts on November 24, 2021, 10:55:04 AM
It should help since there are no longer any rebuild times to factor it. I just ran a quick test on the setup that I think you are describing and it works well. Please feel free to try the beta and let us know if it works in your particular setup.

(https://i.imgur.com/MGJdRyD.gif)

Best,
Paul