Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Multisubmaterial into another Multisubmaterial  (Read 4007 times)

hubmer3

Multisubmaterial into another Multisubmaterial
« on: September 14, 2016, 02:57:57 PM »
Hey,

i'm pretty new to RC and i could not get the following project work.

i have 4 bottles of vine  8) i managed it to scatter them along a spline  :P
but i dont get the random materials working like i would

there are 4 versions of the basematerial (multisubmaterial with 4 id's) which i dropped into another multisubmaterial
is there a way to randomize it that only the basematerials are scattered?

Thanks in advance!

Phil

Michal Karmazín

• iToo Software
Re: Multisubmaterial into another Multisubmaterial
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2016, 03:25:25 PM »
Hi Phil,

Please feel free to check the "4 - How to Control Material IDs and UVWs" chapter of our "Next Steps with RailClone" guide. The topic of Randomising and Sequencing Mat IDs is covered there in detail and you can find there several useful work-flows also for Randomising multiple IDs, Randomising by RailClone object, spline, spline section or segment and how To randomise materials on only a few segments in a multi-part.

As mentioned there: "The solution therefore is to make sure that the multi-sub texture's number of IDs is the same as the randomisation range of the material operator. So in this example we have 9 textures, you would need to create a Mult-Sub material with the non-randomised material in ID1 and the randomised material with the bitmap loader instanced into ID slots 2-10."

Hope that helps.

Best regards,

Terri Brown

• Terri Brown 3D
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2017, 04:09:09 PM »
Hi Mike,