Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Need help with complex setup  (Read 2688 times)

RobH2

• Who is staring at the sea is already sailing a bit
    • NVision4D
Need help with complex setup
« on: April 25, 2015, 05:38:50 AM »
I'm new to RailClone and I think I'm being a bit too ambitious as a beginner but what I'm trying to do is not that hard I don't think. There aren't just enough tutorials and the documentation is very thin for this program. I don't know how you learn the tiny specifics of it.

At any rate, I did the Parquet floor tutorial and it led me to a potential solution for a project I'm doing.

I'm covering a fuzzy GoogleEarth map with patches of crops and farmland. I've been doing it by hand but thought that an array would be perfect. Using the Parquet floor tutorial I've tried to set it up but am stuck and looking or help.

My segments are a bit more complex than the parquet piece and the 1/2 parquet piece. I have 5 pieces that represent parcels of land. I have 36 maps to randomly put on them, just like the floor tutorial.

The largest rectangular piece I call a '4X' because it's 4 times larger than my smallest piece. My second piece I call '2X'. It's just 1/2 of the larger '4x' piece. At this point, it's very similar to the floor tutorial but I have yet another piece that I call a '1X.' It's 1/2 the size of the '2X' piece. Beyond that I have a '4X' that is vertical and a '1X' that is horizontal. I know this is confusing but my attached photo should help. I needed this many pieces so that the land will look realistic. If you look at Google Earth at farmland out west, it's both vertical and horizontally oriented and the plots of land seem to be sized like my 4x, 2x and 1x pieces. That's how I came up with them, I just studied the real thing.