Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: array for placing products  (Read 4457 times)

CranewoodStudios

array for placing products
« on: November 14, 2017, 12:10:53 PM »
Hi

I am new to Railclone and my question is most probably really easy to solve, but I haven't found the solution yet.

I tried to build an RailClone object, which allows me to place products on a shelf. As a spline I use a rectangle which marks the area, where the products can be placed. Now the products should be placed evenly along the X and Y axis. The amount of products should be depending on the area which is available. So if I make the rectangle wider there should be more products. The Products can't be stretched or sliced, so the spacing in between each product should adapt. These are more or less my requirements.

So far I managed to have it working more or less on the X axis, when I only plug the segment into X evenly. But on the Y axis it doesn't have adaptive spacing between the segments. Also the the segments aren't starting right at the side of the rectangle. I uploaded a video of the problem to vimeo https://vimeo.com/242726396 Maybe this helps to understand what I want.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Rokas

Re: array for placing products
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 12:33:20 PM »
I would suggest checking this thread with lots of info
https://forum.itoosoft.com/railclone-pro-(*)/products-on-a-shelf/

If You have questions after that, please ask again
Rokas

CranewoodStudios

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2017, 03:31:19 PM »
Thank you for your fast answer.

I already know the thread you linked, since I bought the software after I read that thread. But my question here is not just "how can I place products on a shelf". (and no doubt there are nice solutions in that thread)