Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Spiral Staircase  (Read 6649 times)

ArtisticPixel

• ArtisticPixel
Spiral Staircase
« on: November 29, 2013, 06:34:07 PM »
Hi All

I was wondering if anyone had any advice on creating a spiral staircase within Railclone. I am new to The program so feel a little daunted by the controls and I have searched for some hints or tips on the subject with no luck.

Sort of like the image I have attached. Firstly is this possible and secondly any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Stephen

Paul Roberts

• iToo Software
Re: Spiral Staircase
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2013, 06:39:40 PM »
Hi Stephen,

Happily this is quite an easy style to recreate. I'd create the stairs and railings as separate RailClone objects, both using L1S arrays. Here's a step-by-step procedure for the stairs, the railings are fairly standard - in fact I used glass handrail 3 from the built in library. There's also a scene file attached that you should be able to examine to make things a little clearer.

• Model a single step - don't worry about any distortion, just model it flat and Railclone can bend it to follow a helical spline for you. Here's an example:

• Create a new helix. Convert it to an editable spline, go to the spline sub object mode, select the spline and convert from line to curve. Go to vertex mode and convert all vertices to bezier curves or smooth.
  • Now create a new RailClone Object. Add an L1S generator, a spline and a segment object.
  • Wire the spline to the Generator's spline input and pick the Helix from the scene
  • In the segment node select the tread you modelled in step 1, wire this to the default input
  • Go to the segment's properties and change the deform mode to stepped. because we want the underside to deform to follow the spline increase the Vertical Bottom value until the underside is deformed to follow the spline and the treads remain stepped.