Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => RailClone Pro (*) => RailClone Pro 1.x => Topic started by: OJ2929 on November 05, 2013, 12:44:02 PM

Title: Vray material displacement not applying to railclone object
Post by: OJ2929 on November 05, 2013, 12:44:02 PM
Hi Guys.

Hope you can help.
I've designed a dropped kerb element which is working perfectly apart from an area of central tactile tiling.
The original geometry renders with the displacement material correctly however the Railclone element doesn't.
Any ideas? Thanks

Dave
Title: Re: Vray material displacement not applying to railclone object
Post by: OJ2929 on November 05, 2013, 01:11:47 PM
Okay Guys, I think I've figured it.

I've switched off the VRay / MentalRay Shader which allowed the displacement to work
I have also had to reduce the displacement scale in the material editor by a factor of 500 (from 5 to 0.01) to get the desired effect.

Cheers
Title: Re: Vray material displacement not applying to railclone object
Post by: yuv on November 05, 2013, 08:53:32 PM
Unfortunately is not possible to use displacement with native instances or proxies in VRay, this is a limitation of the render engine confirmed by ChaosGroup. The only possible solutions are, disable native instancing as you did, or use a modified geometry including the displaced polygons.

You can use Displace Mesh Modifier to get this latter effect, please see the 3dsmax documentation here (http://docs.autodesk.com/3DSMAX/15/ENU/3ds-Max-Help/index.html?url=files/GUID-F88DA9B9-1786-4EF6-98C8-35E8A481D465.htm,topicNumber=d30e65108).