Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => Tutorials => Topic started by: Paul Roberts on February 25, 2019, 10:13:14 AM

Title: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Paul Roberts on February 25, 2019, 10:13:14 AM
Post your questions and comments about the Creating Cityscapes with RailClone tutorial (https://www.itoosoft.com/tutorials/creating-cityscapes-with-railclone-in-3ds-max) here.
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: vfxmonster on February 26, 2019, 05:56:39 PM
Hi Paul,

I noticed the tutorial video mentioned that the secondary RailClone arrays would be included in the tutorial files for the sidewalks, streetlights, people walking, etc.  However when I opened the tutorial files, included were the city grid spline and a maxscript file for the randomization of material ID's.  I'm not sure if it's an issue with my version of Max (2017) or a download error.

I very much would love to learn how to properly implement the other assets into the city.  Ironically this tutorial was released 2 months after we had to build a city out for a Nissan CES keynote presentation.  Being a new user to RailClone and ForestPack (bought it for the Nissan project) I'm just beginning to comprehend how powerful these two packages are together.  After watching the tutorial I see how we could have done it much better with this methodology and was hoping to learn more proper methods of using RailClone from your implementation of all the assets to populate the streets.

Best,
Sean
vfxmonster.com

Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: MG2644 on February 27, 2019, 08:34:17 AM
As vfxmonster pointed out, the tutorial file provided only contains city grid spline. It would be really great if you can provide us the tutorial file with all the assets used in the video. I've been working on several city models for architectural visualization purpose and really curious to see how you populated sidewalk, road etc.
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: TomDArch on March 01, 2019, 04:25:02 AM
You mentioned at the start of the video a previous tutorial on benerating a parametric building with Railclone.  Could you provide a link to that tutorial please?
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Pelo1989 on April 01, 2019, 09:18:29 AM
Hi Paul,

I can't find the tutorial's file with all the railclone's objects, it could be possible to receive it? because i love this tutorial, but without the main file I can't understand how to make the detailed part of the city like pavement for examples.

Thanks a lot for your availability, best regards,
Federico.
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: thhm on August 29, 2019, 02:57:13 PM
can you share the vray material for the roads that use the distancetex pls?
Thanks!
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Rokas on August 29, 2019, 03:23:23 PM
can you share the vray material for the roads that use the distancetex pls?
Thanks!

Hi, unfortunately assets used in this tutorial are copyrighted and can't be shared.
Thanks for understatement.
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Totek on January 23, 2020, 06:45:37 PM
Hi i'm posting here because I'm a bit confused,

I recently bought railclone and followed the first part of this this tutorial, everything went well except for some of buildings geometry getting fliped on the side (see attachment), it does the same thing at the start of the tutorial but it is not explain how to fix this.

This might be very simple to fix this but i can't figure it out, can somedy explain me how to do this plz? :)
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Dragan on January 23, 2020, 07:01:42 PM
Hi, check the Pivot orientation on the original Building model.
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Totek on January 23, 2020, 07:17:05 PM
hey thanks for the reply!

I allready did that but it didn't solve my problem
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Dragan on January 23, 2020, 07:43:07 PM
Can you share the Scene, please?
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Totek on January 23, 2020, 08:57:18 PM
Sure, here is a link to download it, i just simplified it a bit.

https://we.tl/t-rDHsPmluht

Thank you for the help again!
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Dragan on January 23, 2020, 09:35:14 PM
 :(
I can't open it. I`m on MAX2018.
You can use `Select Dependent objects` script from this link:
https://forum.itoosoft.com/railclone-pro/scripts-for-railclone/45/

1. Select RC object and start the script. It should select RC+all object+splines
2. FIle>Save Selected (use Save as type 3ds Max 2017)

That should work and isolate just problematic RC object

Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Totek on January 23, 2020, 10:04:08 PM
Here is the 2017 version.  :D

https://we.tl/t-tAvKRR3nxO

Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Dragan on January 23, 2020, 10:59:45 PM
 ;D
Nope, sorry, still reporting version number 20000

try to isolate just RC
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Rokas on January 24, 2020, 06:39:34 AM
Thanks for file. I can repeat what Dragan Suggested: Please rotate Your buildings Pivot:

(https://i.imgur.com/qcxMloT.gif)

Hope this helps.
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Totek on January 24, 2020, 02:09:40 PM
Ok i feel dumb now i didn't try to rotate the pivot, thank you very much for your answers.
I'm going to explore railclone further and might come back with another stupid questions  ::)
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Terri Brown on April 09, 2020, 11:45:34 AM
Hi! Please post the tutorial for max 2014...thanks a mil xxx
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Paul Roberts on April 14, 2020, 07:16:41 PM
Hi Terri,

Please find attached the scene files saved back to Max 2013. The scene really only contains the city grid because the buildings shown in the tutorial cannot be redistributed. But you should be able to source buildings from anywhere and follow along.

I hope that helps,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Cityscapes with RailClone
Post by: Draganilic on June 04, 2020, 02:21:40 PM
Post your questions and comments about the Creating Cityscapes with RailClone tutorial (https://www.itoosoft.com/tutorials/creating-cityscapes-with-railclone-in-3ds-max) here.
I liked the tutorial a lot, can you make also an tutorial with procedural facades like this one?:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rS-PLQ3tfzY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlR2geuzPXI&feature=youtu.be

Thx