Itoo Software Forum

RailClone => Tutorials => Topic started by: Jose Antonio Dorado on June 26, 2014, 10:06:42 AM

Title: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Jose Antonio Dorado on June 26, 2014, 10:06:42 AM
Post here your questions and comments about the RailClone Stadium (http://www.itoosoft.com/tutorials/tutorial_stadium.php) tutorial.
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Henry on July 09, 2014, 12:19:32 AM
Link to download tutorial files is not working.
http://www.itoosoft.com/files_eu/rc_stadium_scene_tutorial.zip

Thanks
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Rokas on July 09, 2014, 02:08:31 AM
where did you get that link?
offcial link works: http://www.itoosoft.com/files_eu/rc_stadium_scene_tutorial (http://www.itoosoft.com/files_eu/rc_stadium_scene_tutorial)
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: iToo on July 09, 2014, 08:59:37 AM
We changed the url a couple days after releasing the tutorial, to include the Mental Ray version.
The official link (without zip) works fine. If there is some old link pointing to the zip file, please tell us.
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: thechrisman on July 17, 2014, 01:32:25 AM
Hey There,
I'm trying to animate the flags in the Stadium tutorial file with no success. I've animated the flags, then re-linked all the segments, but can't get the animation in the rail clone object. Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks.
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Paul Roberts on July 17, 2014, 09:38:14 AM
Hi,

Thanks for contacting us. Animation applied to segments should transfer to the RailClone object with no further steps unless you are animating the translation, rotation, or scale of the object. If you wish to animate transforms, apply an xform modifier and animate the gizmo sub object instead. Animated deformations of the mesh such as bones or cloth should work fine.

I've created a simple file testing these 3 techniques.  You can download it here (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/218877678/iToo/animation%20test.rar)

I hope this helps, if animation is still not working please let me know.

Thanks!

Paul
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: thechrisman on July 18, 2014, 05:20:00 AM
Sweet! Thanks Paul!
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: kadmaster on November 12, 2014, 09:39:11 AM
Hi, firstly thanks for very useful tutorial.

I have a question about  fourth part of the video.

You put randomize operator for the flags and you put empty segment object to fourth line of the randomize operator. On the other hand, you typed 2000.0 presence value of the randomize operator.

(https://imageshack.com/i/kn9q4fiRj)

but I can't type 2000.0 in my max. My upper limit is 100,0.So what is my problem? I can not write any value of over 100.

(https://imageshack.com/i/ip8z5Rr2j)
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Paul Roberts on November 12, 2014, 11:27:37 AM
Hi,

Yes, you're right. Since the video was recorded we've introduced a maximum limit to those spinners, 100% seemed more logical for a presence parameter. To achieve the same effect you can reduce the percentage value of the flags instead. 

I hope that helps.

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: kadmaster on November 12, 2014, 12:29:19 PM
Thanks, paul again... I understood the situation... ;D I'm just curious ... I thought that seperator setting was wrong.( "." vs. ",") (2000.0 vs. 2000,0). Thanks for advice and sorry about my english.
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Bruno NM on July 17, 2015, 04:17:53 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm actually on the part 3 of the Stadium tutorial, i got a mistake about the Limit Segment within the Display rollout for scattered chairs.
I set 200 000 in the limit segment section like in the video but Raiclone continue to pop up the message ''Limit has been reach, increase the limit segment parameter''.
I try to increase more, at the maximum, the message still coming.
I test with the Face parameter, set to 50,0 and segment limit set to 200 000 that's work but render are very very long and my computer freeze...
Perhaps i make a mistake before, i don't know why it's doesn't work like the video...
It will be glad if you could help me for this, i would like finish this usefull tutorial  :P

(Sorry for my english)
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Paul Roberts on July 17, 2015, 05:10:03 PM
Hi!

Please make sure that Bend and Slice are turned off for the chair segments. This will ensure that these are rendered as instances.

(http://i.imgur.com/1gMAE33.png)

If these are left on, any chair that is deformed by the curved path, or sliced by the end of the spline will be rendered as static geometry which can contribute significantly to render times and create very large polygon counts.

I hope that helps, if not please let me know and if in Doubt, it may be worth opening the finished version of the scene and testing. If that works you can take a look at the settings and see how they differ.

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Bruno NM on July 18, 2015, 01:12:01 AM
Thanks a lot Paul Roberts ! That's work great !
Renders are super fast instead before, 5min 30sec instead more than 1 hour with old parameters for a output size frame 1080p 608p.
Good job !  ;D
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Ihno on June 03, 2016, 12:01:01 PM
Hi, I'm trying to get started with railclone.
And I'm running into a problem in the first part of the stadium tutorial. It appears when I copy the railing with wall and change the spline.
Some parts of the new wall are sliced, see the attached image.
What causes this?
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 03, 2016, 02:02:48 PM
HI!

Thanks for contacting us. That's a strange problem and I can't reproduce that here. Could you let me know which version of 3DS Max and RailClone you're using?

Thanks!

Paul
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Ihno on June 03, 2016, 02:12:23 PM
I'm using 3ds max 2016 SP3 and RailClone 2.6.0 I'm also using the brand new Vray 3.40.01
Which I thought may cause the problem, but turning of the instance engine dosn't help.
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 03, 2016, 02:18:56 PM
Are you able to upgrade to the recent beta?

http://forum.itoosoft.com/index.php?topic=3756.0

There are a few bug fixes that may affect styles that have vertices with angles of exacty 180 degrees. If that doesn't help if you could upload a max file with just the problematic objects here, I'll check it and perhaps it will reveal something.

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Ihno on June 03, 2016, 02:44:09 PM
Jep, that fixed the issue, thanks  ;)
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 03, 2016, 02:53:32 PM
Great! Glad we could help out.
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Eugene on August 08, 2019, 12:08:02 PM
Hi, I have a problem with rendering the audience. I have attached random materials to people (like in the tutorial) and can see them well randomized in the view port. But when rendering all people have the same material ID. I use 3ds max 2017 and Corona 3. Perhaps you can explain why this happens?

Thanks,

Eugene
Title: Re: RailClone Stadium
Post by: Rokas on August 08, 2019, 01:15:20 PM
Hi Eugene,
Please try  with disabled instancing
(https://i.imgur.com/9i3vO2B.png)