Itoo Software Forum

Forest Pack => Tutorials => Topic started by: Paul Roberts on June 02, 2015, 12:54:55 PM

Title: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 02, 2015, 12:54:55 PM
Post here your questions and comments about the Creating Libraries for Forest Pack tutorial.
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Rokas on June 02, 2015, 03:25:58 PM
Solid part 2- about preset creation, thank You.

Part1 is missing key part- thumbnails generation.
Plus You have all Your models in one scene- that`s convenient in illustrated case- relatively light grass objects.
More real world case is tress library, easily exceeding gigabytes in size- I wouldn't dare to put all those trees in one file.

My workflow is:
Use hcg asset browser (http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/hcg-asset-browser-pro) for thumbnail generation- one max file,- one thumbnail.
Then from folder like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/UrWqMrc.png)

make library like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/8wua4LZ.png)

using script I wrote-
(http://i.imgur.com/F7LmXiG.png)
it`s not too user friendly and still have some UI issues, so cant really share it for now..
but iToo team could easily write similar and better during lunch break...


P.S. Can I please ask You custom background color for library browser? I want white, please...
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 02, 2015, 03:41:12 PM
Hi Rokas,

Thanks for the extra tips, I'm sure people will find them useful. You're absolutely right about heavy meshes, in this case we would always recommend one model per file. This is mentioned in the large presets section but could have been made more explicit up front.

I'll pass on the request for adjustable background colours.

Many thanks,

Paul.
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 02, 2015, 04:20:22 PM
Hi,
I just wanted to follow this up to say that you can also use Forest Pack's import from scene tool to add objects from multiple .max files.  All you need to do is hold down CTRL or SHIFT when selecting the max files and all the objects from those files will be displayed along with the original .max file to which they belong.

(http://i.imgur.com/Z3Fw0Fl.png)

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Rokas on June 02, 2015, 04:26:22 PM
had I knew this, I would have not written my script...

cheers
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 02, 2015, 04:41:44 PM
Hi Rokas,

It wasn't obvious from the documentation so I've just added a note (http://docs.itoosoft.com/display/FORESTPACK/Editing+a+library#Editingalibrary-Toaddingmultiple3Dobjectstoalibrary).

It looks as though we can add your background colour request though  :)

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Pixelab on June 03, 2015, 11:09:31 AM
Hi,

Thanks for this tutorial, and the new lawn presets are great !

One thing is confusing me, you say that the path for the presets is

C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Forest Pack\libs

but on my workstation (vista x64) and servers (win 7) it's

C:\Program Files (x86)\Itoo Software\Forest Pack Pro\lib\Presets
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 03, 2015, 11:16:41 AM
Hi,

Glad you find the new tutorial useful.

Just to clarify those two paths. C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Forest Pack\libs  is the directory for the User folder that is already found in the library. This is a folder we provide in a standard installation for you to add your own libraries.

On the other hand C:\Program Files (x86)\Itoo Software\Forest Pack Pro\lib\Presets should be the path for the presets that come bundled with Forest Pack. This directory includes all out pre-built libraries.

I hope that helps clear this up.

Many thanks.

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Pixelab on June 03, 2015, 11:19:37 AM
Hi,

Glad you find the new tutorial useful.

Just to clarify those two paths. C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Forest Pack\libs  is the directory for the User folder that is already found in the library. This is a folder we provide in a standard installation for you to add your own libraries.

On the other hand C:\Program Files (x86)\Itoo Software\Forest Pack Pro\lib\Presets should be the path for the presets that come bundled with Forest Pack. This directory includes all out pre-built libraries.

I hope that helps clear this up.

Many thanks.

Paul

Ok, got it!

We modified the user path to an UNC pointing to a NAS, that's why the user path was unused.

There's no problem using itoo install path to drop the new files, or will they be erased on the next update ? (although they might be included in the next update)
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on June 03, 2015, 11:25:43 AM
Actually we don't recommend saving any user presets in the user path because this are is wiped with each new update. That said the presets in the tutorial will probably be bundled with a future update, most likely Forest 4.4.

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: itooUser on August 03, 2015, 07:27:13 PM
DEAR SIR
               i am unable lo download the tutorials file  :'(! it is giving me a error ! please look into it or guide me to the tutorial fie
                 Thank you for reading this post
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on August 03, 2015, 09:25:56 PM
Hi!

Thanks for reporting this issue, we apologise for any inconvenience. We're looking into the issue and the tutorial files should be  back online soon. I'll update this thread as soon as they are working again.

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on August 04, 2015, 03:00:46 PM
Hi,

All the tutorial links should now be working. Please let us know if you encounter any problems.


Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: rkfkalee on August 24, 2015, 07:52:53 AM
I tried to follow the tutorial. I have a Forest lite version.
In the library browser, I couldn't find User's library anywhere.
Also I downlodad the attached file in tutorial page and unpacked it, but I couldn't find the "Presets tutorial" in the library browser.
Where should I unpack the file?
And, when I clicked the "Change preferences" button in library to open "library browser option", there is no "add" button and some buttons are also missing.

Is this a difference between Lite version and Pro version?
On the description of the tutorial, it said the tutorial is for both pro and lite version, so I followed it.

Help me to finish this tutorial.
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on August 24, 2015, 08:14:28 AM
Hi,

Thanks for contacting us. I'm afraid that editing and adding user libraries in only supported in the Pro version of the plugin. You can see the full list of differences here (http://docs.itoosoft.com/display/FORESTPACK/Lite+and+Pro).

I apologise if that wasn't clear. I can't find where it says the tutorial is compatible with the lite version, but if you let me know I'll correct it.

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: rkfkalee on August 25, 2015, 07:47:55 PM
When I open the "lawnpresets.max" file in the 3d max, it shows the error. There is no problem to open the file if I just click open and ignore it, but I think this means some potential problem..
What does it mean?
3d max is 2012 version, and Vray is 2.0003 version.

And also, when I open any items included in the tutorial file, it shows the same error message as I see with the "lawnpresets.max" file.
If I try to render the image with the items, it shows the error message like shown in the second capture.
I deleted the tutorial files and redownloaded it, and also reinstalled my 3d max, but it still shows the error.
What is the problem??
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on August 25, 2015, 09:44:23 PM
Hi,

Apologies for the issues with these files. That error appears to be related to state sets, which wasn't introduced until Max 2013. It is probably because I created the tutorial files in an more recent version of Max and then saved back to 2011 format (though I don't recall using states sets).

I'll see if I can remove the issue and re-upload the files. In the meantime this script to remove missing DLLs (http://scripts.breidt.net/#removeMissingPlugins) from the scene may be useful to fix the files if you're in a hurry.

The second error message may be because you are loading a library preset with the Standard renderer active? We only provided material libraries for Corona, Mental Ray and V-Ray in the tutorial files, but the maxscript will still detect and attempt to load material libraries for other renderers. If you switch the render to one of the other 3 do you still get the issue?

Many thanks,

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: samip.pudke on March 01, 2016, 08:35:24 AM
this custom library nevr happen to my pc, always show its not possible if bla bla bla .  ;D ;D ;D

i was wondering. this is because pirated software, now i purchased this software still having same issues. i cant add any 3d object in custom library.



help me out itoo.
samip.
india
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on March 01, 2016, 09:09:54 AM
Hi Samip,

When creating your own libraries do you get the error "It is not possible to do this operation if a Max object is being created. Please, open the library browser from the Max  modify panel and try again"?

(http://docs.itoosoft.com/download/attachments/20480078/image2016-2-16%2011%3A20%3A21.png?version=1&modificationDate=1455641749000&api=v2)

If so, this happens only when you open the library browser from the Select button found in the Create panel. There are certain restrictions in Max on create or editing a library when while Forest object is also being created. For this reason, if you want to edit a library you should always use the Library button found in the Geometry rollout that's available only when you're in the Modify Panel.

(http://docs.itoosoft.com/download/attachments/20480078/image2016-2-16%2011%3A26%3A53.png?version=1&modificationDate=1455641749000&api=v2)

I hope that helps, please let me know if you have further questions.

Many thanks!

Paul
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: samip.pudke on March 01, 2016, 09:22:36 AM
i want to put all them in custom library with thumbnails but
Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: samip.pudke on March 01, 2016, 09:27:28 AM
thanks sir, its sorted out.
and it wont disappear while rendering right?

Title: Re: Creating Libraries
Post by: Paul Roberts on March 01, 2016, 12:34:30 PM
Hi!

As long as you have removed your pirated license and you're not using any objects that were created with it your objects shouldn't disappear during renders.

I hope that helps

Thanks!

Paul