Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: How to Alternate Placing of Geometry?  (Read 666 times)

leejk

How to Alternate Placing of Geometry?
« on: June 23, 2023, 03:53:41 AM »
Hello,

So I have a spline that represents the center of a road, and I want to use it to place street lights along both sides of the road, but alternate them on each side of the road. For example, after first light is placed on right side of road, the next is placed on left side of the road at a spacing I choose. I am new to using RC so need a push in the right direction. I assume this can be done with a L1S but seems like some sort of logic will need to be created?

Michal Karmazín

• iToo Software
Re: How to Alternate Placing of Geometry?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2023, 09:47:04 AM »
Hi,

There are many possible setups – for example using two Linear 1S1 Generators – one with a positive Y Offset value, the other with a negative Y Offset value, and the corresponding X Offset value (a middle of the distance between these Segments). Please find attached the sample scene (XOffsetSampleScene).

I hope that helps.

Best regards,

leejk

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2023, 02:19:51 PM »
Thank you, a pretty elegant solution!

leejk

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2023, 06:10:06 PM »
Hello again,

So after putting the solution into practice I discovered some issues. The streets don't run in true X & Y orientations so maybe that is why. I adjusting the X offset on the generator that does not use it, but that did not help any really. There is a center of the street spline that is driving the lights, and that also may not be ideal either because in the circle areas, the lights should go around those as well, and by using he centerline spline they will not. The centerline spline is driving the street positions, and the idea was that it would also drive the light placement, but now thinking that may not work for all situations. I have attached a sample scene. Any ideas?

Michal Karmazín

• iToo Software