Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Segments not sliced when using conditional formating  (Read 501 times)

manoffoot

Segments not sliced when using conditional formating
« on: October 12, 2021, 03:44:47 PM »
I'm new to Railclone but already have an issue which is really frustrating and so I am hoping someone can help me.  I have a series of splines that we are using to create concrete walls.  The curvature of the spline is dictacting the segment we'd like to use, with a tighter curve requiring a smaller segment length to appear less faceted.  Poly count is a thing for us so we can't simply use the smallest segment everywhere.  I have 10 different segment lengths varriying from 0.3m to 10m in length and I was hoping to use mat id of the spline sections to control which segment is used.  I created a series of conditional nodes asking if mat id equals 10 then use segment which is 10m long and if not pass onto the next conditional node asking if it is 8 then use segment that is 8m long etc etc.  All of this is good except it no longer slices the segment at the end of the spline section but instead continues into the curve part of the spline we need to be smaller in size.  I believe this is because the conditional nodes are all happening before the generator which controls the slicing but if I try to create 10 generators and use the mat id limits option it crashes MAX on me and has done several times.
If someone is able to help I'd much appreciate it.   

manoffoot

Re: Segments not sliced when using conditional formating
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2021, 04:45:24 PM »
I have managed to get the 10 generators setup working without it crashing but I now have the issue of the UVW mapping (I'm using the box mapping option) not being continuous and flowing from one section of the spline into the next but instead starting again, which will be an issue and needs to be resolved.
Is there a way of either correcting this flow of UVW mapping with multiple generators?