Itoo Software Forum

Author Topic: Unlocking/returning of network licences...  (Read 1086 times)

AldingerWolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Unlocking/returning of network licences...
« on: November 29, 2013, 03:40:51 PM »
Hello,

we bought 2 network licences a few days ago for our studio. I installed the Licence Manager (LM) on our server and all is working fine so far.
I noticed that a licence gets locked when i select a RailClone (RC) object and activate the "modify" panel in Max for the first time. Until now i didnt find a way to tell the LM that i no longer need a licence for editing the RC object. The only way to returning/unlocking the licence again is to close the 3DS Max Application or logon to the machine that runs the LM and disconnect manually.
Is this the supposed procedure?
Is it possible to add a button to the RC objects modfiy panel where someone who didn't get a licence, can do a "request" or force a disconnect of a unused licence on the LM? Maybe in one of the future versions?

Greets
Daniel

iToo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3094
    • iToo Software
Re: Unlocking/returning of network licences...
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2013, 01:04:46 PM »
Yes, once assigned a Network license it's necessary to close Max to release it. As a safe mesaure, there is a timer in the server that release them after some unused time, but usually it's faster to close Max.

To avoid that a specific workstation take a license from the server, you can set temporary the license mode to "Stand-alone", using the "Change License Mode" tool.

I'm sorry, but we have not plans to include options to release a license manually from Max. If a workstation require to use RailClone habitually, it should has its own license (if not, use the procedure described above). It's not our policy to promote license sharing practices.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2013, 01:52:38 PM by iToo »
Carlos Quintero
iToo Software